“After Earth” The Movie

Standard

If you have not seemed the movie “After Earth” staring Will Smith, you have missed a real treat. The critics trashed this movie and most moviegoers didn’t like it, but I think it was one of the best movies of 2013.

I always look for ways to navigate life peacefully and if I hear or see something that might help me I will incorporate that into my life. In the movie there are several messages that anyone could use in their everyday life. Two of the most powerful messages in the movie are listed below.

First

“Fear is not real. The only place that fear can exist is in our thoughts of the future. It is a product of our imagination, causing us to fear things that do not at present and may not ever exist. That is near insanity. Do not misunderstand me danger is very real but fear is a choice.” -Will Smith-

This is a wonderful explanation of exactly what fear is and how we should deal with it. I incorporated this immediately in my life. When you change the way you view fear it is liberating. I even look at spiders differently now.

Second

Take a knee. Ground yourself in this present moment. Focus only on what you can see, feel and smell.

This reminded me of prayers. Only when taking a knee you stop in the mist of what is going on and ground yourself. By doing so you remove all imaginations about how a particular scenario in your life might play out. You will then be able to make a clear decision about what to do next.

Final Thoughts

I may be the only person n America that enjoyed this movie, but this movie goes into my collection of movies to watch over and over and over. Well done. I hereby nominate the movie “After Earth” for the newest award I have titled The Sleeper of the Year Award. I can’t be the only person on the planet that enjoyed this movie. Or am I? Rent the DVD and decide for yourself.

Leave a Reply

